Tuesday, November 29, 2011

The Artist and Take Shelter dominate the Indie Spirit Awards

The Independent Spirt Awards have announced their nominations. The Artist and Take Shelter scored 5 nominations including Best Feature. 50/50, The Descendants, Beginners and Drive also scored a best feature nomination. 

Curiously though George Clooney, Glen Close, Bernice Bejo, Ewan McGregor and Carey Mulligan were snubbed from nominations in their respective categories. Also missing was Midnight in Paris in the best film category. Many have stated that it is one of the best films of the year. 

Previous winners include The Wrestler, Black Swan and Brokeback Mountain. 

The Nominations
Best Feature 
The Descendants
Take Shelter
The Artist
Best First Feature
Another Earth
In The Family

Margin Call
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Natural Selection
Best Male Lead
Demian Bichir-A Better Life
Jean Dujardin-The Artist
Ryan Gosling-Drive
Woody Harrelson-Rampart
Michael Shannon-Take Shelter

Best Female Lead
Lauren Ambrose-Think of Me
Rachael Harris-Natural Selection
Adepero Oduye-Pariah

Elizabeth Olsen-Martha Marcy May Marlene
Michelle Williams-My Week with Marilyn
Best Supporting Male
Albert Brooks-Drive
John Hawkes-Martha Marcy May Marlene

Christopher Plummer-Beginners
John C.Reilly-Cedar Rapids
Corey Stoll-Midnight in Paris
Best Supporting Female
Jessica Chastain-Take Shelter

Angelica Huston-50/50 
Janet McTeer-Albert Nobbs
Harmony Santana-Gun Hll Road
Shailene Woodley-The Descendants
Best Screenplay
Joseph Cedar-FootNote
Michel Hazanavicius-The Artist
Tom McCarthy-Win Win
Mike Mills-Beginners
Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon & Jim Rash-The Descendants
Best First Screenplay
Mike Cahill & Brit Marling-Another Earth
J.C. Chandor-Margin Call 
Patrick DeWitt-Terri
Phil Johnston-Cedar Rapids
Will Reiser-50/50
Best Cinematography
Joel Hodge-Bellflower
Benjamin Kuh-Sulk-The Off Hours
Darius Kond-Jee-Midnight in Paris
Gui-omme Shiffman-The Artist
Jeffrey Waldron-The Dynamiter
Best International Film
A Separation
The Kid With a Bike
Best Documentary
An African Selection
Bill Cunningham's New York
The Interrupters
The Redemption of General Butt Naked
We Were HereSomeone to Watch Award: Simon Arthur
Mark Jackson and Nicholas Ozeki
Piaget Producers Award:  Chad Burris, Sophia Lin and Josh Mond
Truer Than Fiction Award: Heather Courtney, Danfung Dennis, and Alma Har'El
John Cassavetes Award
Hello Lonesome
The Dynamiter
Robert Altman Award for one film’s director, casting director and ensemble: Margin Call

No comments:

Post a Comment