Monday, December 16, 2013

12 Years a Slave Wins the Dallas Fort Worth Film Critics

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave
Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Supporting Actor: Jared Leto
Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Director: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity
Cinematography: Gravity
Best Musical Score: Gravity
Animated: Frozen
Foreign Language: Blue is the Warmest Colour
Best Documentary: 20 Feet from Stardom
Best Screenplay: 12 years a Slave
Russell Smith Award: Fruitvale Station
Full press release, with runners-up, after the jump.
The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the historical drama 12 YEARS A SLAVE as the best film of 2013, according to the results of its 20th annual critics’ poll released today.
Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were GRAVITY (2), NEBRASKA (3), AMERICAN HUSTLE (4), DALLAS BUYERS CLUB (5), HER (6), THE WOLF OF WALL STREET (7), INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS (8), CAPTAIN PHILLIPS (9) and MUD (10).
For Best Actor, the association named Matthew McConaughey for DALLAS BUYERS CLUB. Runners-up included Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 YEARS A SLAVE (2), Bruce Dern for NEBRASKA (3), Tom Hanks for CAPTAIN PHILLIPS (4) and Leonardo DiCaprio for THE WOLF OF WALL STREET (5).
Cate Blanchett was voted Best Actress for BLUE JASMINE. Next in the voting were Sandra Bullock for GRAVITY (2), Judi Dench for PHILOMENA (3), Meryl Streep for AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY (4) and Emma Thompson for SAVING MR. BANKS (5).
In the Best Supporting Actor category, the winner was Jared Leto for DALLAS BUYERS CLUB. He was followed by Michael Fassbender for 12 YEARS A SLAVE (2), Barkhad Abdi for CAPTAIN PHILLIPS (3), Daniel Bruhl for RUSH (4) and Jonah Hill for THE WOLF OF WALL STREET (5).
For Best Supporting Actress, the association named Lupita Nyong’o for 12 YEARS A SLAVE. Runners-up were June Squibb for NEBRASKA (2), Jennifer Lawrence for AMERICAN HUSTLE (3), Julia Roberts for AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY (4) and Sally Hawkins for BLUE JASMINE (5).
Alfonso Cuaron was voted Best Director for GRAVITY. Next in the voting were Steve McQueen for 12 YEARS A SLAVE (2), Alexander Payne for NEBRASKA (3), David O. Russell for AMERICAN HUSTLE (4) and Martin Scorsese for THE WOLF OF WALL STREET (5).
The association voted BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR as the best foreign-language film of the year. Runners-up included THE HUNT (2), THE GREAT BEAUTY (3), THE WIND RISES (4) and THE GRANDMASTER (5).
FROZEN was named the best animated film of 2013, with DESPICABLE ME 2 as runner-up. John Ridley won the Best Screenplay award for 12 YEARS A SLAVE over a tie between Bob Nelson for NEBRASKA and Spike Jonze for HER.
The award for Best Cinematography went to Emmanuel Lubezki for GRAVITY, followed by Sean Bobbitt for 12 YEARS A SLAVE. The association gave its award for Best Musical Score to Steven Price for GRAVITY.
The association voted FRUITVALE STATION as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.

No comments:

Post a Comment